Beautiful, Interesting and Ooo Shiny! Images From Various Places

The Scandal of Service

Location: Mexico
Camera info: Canon Rebel 350 D • lens 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
ISO 1600 • f 4.0 • 1/250 sec

Service. When you hear the word, what images come to mind? A group of teens dishing up soup at a food pantry? A big corporation donating to a charity foundation? An elderly man holding a door open for his wife? For this week’s pick I chose something simple – just a girl cleaning a table. It may have seemed insignificant, but that table was where our whole team sat to each each day after working hard. So we all really appreciated it being clean. 🙂

I think it’s easier to go out and serve someone than to be served. There’s something about helping others in need that makes us feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s a win-win from that perspective. But what about when others try to serve you? I usually get a little embarrassed or try too hard to help them back. But I know it takes humility to accept someone else’s service (something I’m trying to develop in myself), so I try not to get in the way if I can help it. This weekend, I’m having a bunch of people come over to help me move. Others volunteered to help clean the new place in preparation. Some of those people I’ve helped previously, others are stepping up to serve me first. My challenge is to swallow my pride and allow it.

So you’ve heard my take on it. What’s yours? Is it easier for you to serve or be served? Why?

Leave a Reply

