Beautiful, Interesting and Ooo Shiny! Images From Various Places

The Hills Are Alive… With Starstruck Tourists!

Location: Austria
Camera info: Fuji Finepix A303 / Automatic Point & Shoot
ISO 100 • f 2.8 • 1/100 sec

Most of you probably recognized this one already. If not, just sing with me.
Do, a deer, a female deer
Re, a drop of golden sun…

Now before you shoot me for getting that song stuck in your head, won’t you admit you’re just a little bit curious about why I brought it up? This week’s picture is from Mirabell Gardens in Salzburg. This was the backdrop used during filming of certain scenes in The Sound of Music. In fact, while I was in Austria, I got to see several places that were used in the movie. Some tourist companies even offer tours*, though I just explored on my own (knowing German was a plus!).

Along with the gardens, I also visited the Residenzplatz, shown in the beginning of the movie as Maria was leaving her abbey. Next was Hellbrunn Castle, which is where the gazebo is located (used in several scenes). However, I didn’t realize that at the time, and missed it while walking around the castle grounds! 😦 Oops! I didn’t have time to visit all of the sites, but it was fun to walk up to something I recognized instantly from a movie.

Have you ever been on a movie set or seen something that came from one? What was your experience like?

*Here are a few: Tour 1 Tour 2 Tour 3 Tour 4

One response

  1. Pingback: More Than Salt in Salzburg « Pictures Around the World

Leave a Reply

