Beautiful, Interesting and Ooo Shiny! Images From Various Places

Sometimes These Things Just Happen

Location: Indonesia
Camera info: Fuji FinePix A303 / Automatic Point & Shoot
ISO 100 • f 7 • 1/750 sec

I probably have more people ask about this picture than any other one I’ve taken. Maybe because it’s been my logo for Shine4Him Photography since the beginning? Or maybe just because it rocks! 🙂 Either way, this has been one of my favorite “accident” shots.

A group of us were having a fun time at an island resort, and several of the locals enjoyed jumping off the dock. There were two levels to jump from, one about five feet and one about twenty-five feet.  I attempted the high jump once, but after getting the wind knocked out of me on the landing, I opted to stay on the low jump and take pictures of the people who seemed to have a liking for pain. I noticed some steps that went all the way to the water below the dock, so I sat on the bottom step and snapped a few pictures of the jumpers. The girl in this picture jumped right when the sun was behind the dock post, making a perfect silhouette. Sometimes you just luck out like that. 🙂

Are you feeling lucky, even blessed? When have things just worked out for you?

4 responses

  1. Proof again, Nicole, that we don’t need fancy cameras to get a great shot. Call it luck! Or call it divine help, but it works. Thanks for your godly example and great photos.

    January 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • Haha, good call. I usually don’t consider very much “luck” as much as I do God’s help. And yes, I hope this is encouraging to my photographer friends who don’t have a big camera. Just get out there and start snapping pictures! 😉

      Thanks Joyce!

      January 24, 2011 at 11:41 am

  2. Jane Kimble

    I’ve always liked this picture. Good choice.

    January 24, 2011 at 9:47 am

  3. Pingback: Setting Up the Perfect Scene: Composition 1 « Pictures Around the World

Leave a Reply

